PODCAST:

S4 Conclusion – A Long-expected Goodbye!*

SHOW NOTES:

So concludes another season of our podcast “No Deodorant In Outer Space” (NDIOS). This time around was a lot of fun. The inclusion of new guests with fresh perspectives really added to the catalog of thoughts, while at the same time it was comforting to catch up with old favorites as well (including my former co-hosts). For me, the season was a successful adventure that allowed me to pursue more stories with more people. Our discussions were just as eye-opening and maddening as before, and probably four times as enjoyable!

In taking on the helm by myself I was able to avoid most of the burn out and fatigue that was causing some strains in the previous iteration of the podcast. That said, and because of the way I chose to produce this unwieldy ship, I found myself becoming increasingly burdened and buried by the various administrative functions I felt were important to keep things afloat. It was a familiar place and the same one I found myself at by the end of Season Three. However, I had tried to streamline the process by recording an entire season worth of episodes ahead of time and held off the start until that was complete. This allowed me to release the podcast on a clockwork schedule with almost no hiccups along the way. Unfortunately, I did not account for the fact that life would get busier, as it often does, and that the postponed editing and administrative work would soon consume more and more of my free time once things got going. I was determined to keep things dutifully on schedule. For the podcast, I did. Inevitably, my writing aspirations took more and more of a backseat (as before).

I must therefore, again, bid you all farewell. There are no more NDIOS podcasts recorded. This journey has taken me the better part of two years: one spent lining up guests, reading, watching, and reviewing the material and recording the episodes; and the other spent editing and administering the show on a timely schedule. I enjoyed it all immensely! Thank you to everyone for participating and putting up with my neurotic personality while I produced our discussions. My guests were all great and the material was exciting to cover (even when it wasn’t!).

To anyone who listened I would also sincerely thank you for checking us out or continuing to listen to this crazy experiment. I hope it was as funny as it was informative (perhaps, sometimes, neither?!)–at the least I hope it served as a background distraction while you folded your laundry or tended to some yard work or avoided other chores that would have been a much better use of your time. Occasionally, life needs these indulgent distractions!

The future is dark and the stars are infinite. I do not know if the podcast will ever return or in what manner it might. I have had many thoughts on the subject, but nothing definitive. What I do know, is that I still cherish the medium and listen to many other (probably better) podcasts myself. Continue to support these efforts, its wonderful to have so many options to peak our curiosities and entertain us. Keep reading, keep watching, keep discussing, keep learning, and keep laughing!

With that I’ll say… Goodnight!**

-Ryan

**FYI: This episode recording is in small part an inspiration, tribute, and parody of the farewell speech made by the immortal character, Bilbo Baggins, for his 111th birthday party in the opening chapter, “A Long-expected Party,” of The Fellowship of the Ring as written by one of my most favorite authors: J.R.R. Tolkien.

 

 

* DISCLAIMER: Please be advised that the views and opinions of the hosts and guests of NDIOS are completely their own and do not necessarily reflect the views and beliefs of the other hosts and guests or that of NDIOS.

Leave a comment